Top Red Bar
Home > Departments

Educational Institutions in Wyandotte County 

Kansas City has four school districts that provide services to the public and private students living in Wyandotte County;


  • Bonner Springs School District
  • Kansas City Kansas Public Schools
  • Piper Unified School District
  • Turner Unified School District
  • The Archidocese of Kansas City In Kansas Catholic Schools
  • School District Map

Additional Schools

The Kansas City, Kansas Public Schools (KCKPS) is the largest school district in Wyandotte County, Kansas. The school district consists of 49 schools including three preschools: 

 100 Best Communities for Young People
  • 30 elementary schools (grades K-5)
  • eight middle schools (grades 6-8)
  • four senior high schoos (grades 9-12)
  • Sumner Academy of Arts and Science (grades 9-12)
  • two alternative schools
 Wyandotte High School
 Historic Wyandotte High School

In 2012, Kansas City, Kansas (KCK) was named one of America’s Promise Alliance’s 100 Best Communities for Young People presented by ING. This national award was given to KCK to recognize its outstanding and innovative work in addressing the high school dropout crisis and for its programs and services that make it an outstanding place for youth to live, learn and grow.

In 2009, the Kansas City, Kansas School District (Unified School District #500) issued 8 permits for additions, remodels and repairs totaling $7.5 million. This includes a $2.2 million Education Center/Administration Building and a $4.5 million additional/renovation to Sumner Academy of Arts and Science. US News and World Reports ranked Sumner Academy in its top 100 (rank 62nd) receiving a gold medal ranking in 2009.  This ranking is designed to provide an unbiased report of how public schools are preparing students for college.  No other school in the Kansas City Metro area received a gold medal ranking.

Background Piece Background Piece