Top Red Bar
Home > Departments

About Kansas City, Kansas
Consolidated Government  

In the field of local government in the United States, a consolidated city–county is a city and county that have been merged into one unified jurisdiction. As such, it is simultaneously a city, which is a municipal corporation; and a county, which is an administrative division of a state. Therefore, it has the powers and responsibilities of both types of entities. 

Consolidation is not a new tool used by cities. In fact, in the 1800s a number of today‘s larger cities were established by application of this method, including New York, Philadelphia, New Orleans, Boston, St. Louis and San Francisco. Similar arrangements exist in other countries such as Germany, where Berlin, Bremen, and Hamburg are both cities and states. Nearly every larger city in Germany is a consolidated city–county, like Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Munich or Dresden; Austria, where the capital of Vienna is both a city and state. 

The highest concentration of large consolidated city–county governments in the United States is in the Midwest and upper south region. Some of the city and county consolidated governments in this area are: 

Wyandotte County, Kansas, uses the term "unified government" to refer to its consolidation with Kansas City, Kansas, and most of the towns within the county boundaries in which some cities and towns remain separate jurisdictions within the county. Individual sections of a metropolitan or regional municipality may retain some autonomous jurisdiction apart from the city-wide government. 

Nashville, Tennessee and Louisville uses the term “metropolitan government” to refer to its consolidation with the county. Columbus, Georgia uses the term “consolidated Government.” 

There are roughly 30 consolidated city and county governments in the United States. 


Background Piece Background Piece