Motor Vehicle Auto Licensing

Location: Director: Hours: Contact:
Courthouse
710 N 7th St, Suite 240
Kansas City, KS
66101
Richard Mikesic Monday - Friday
8:00AM - 5:00PM Cut Off 2:00PM: M, F - Cut Off 3:30PM: T, W, Th
P: (913) 573-2821 F: (913) 573-2890 E: Email
Vehicle Titling
Hours of Service
Monday & Friday: "Title" Cut Off at 2:00PM
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: "Title" Cut Off at 3:30PM
Monday - Friday: Renewals, Placards, Replacement Plate and Personalized pickup will be processed during normal business hours.
Treasury Office Disclaimer:

“We reserve the right to cut title work off early when business demands exceed our ability to process all customers.”

Title Work Includes:

  • New Title Registration
  • (60) Day permits
  • Title or Plate Transfers
  • Secured Title Application
  • Duplicate Title Applications
  • New Registration Quotes
  • Adding or Dropping Names
  • Dealer Work Processing (Dealer Drop Off Only Accepted)

 

New Vehicle

Application for title must originate in the office of the local County Treasurer’s Office in which the vehicle is housed. Military or full-time college students may register at their legal residence or their stationed address.

Vehicles must be registered within (60) days from the date of purchase. Penalties accrue after (60) days.

 

Provide the following information:

  • Properly assigned Statement of Origin (Notarization required in Az., Ky., La., Mt., N.C., Oh., Ok., Pa., or Wy.)
  • Kansas sales tax receipt when purchased from a Kansas dealer
  • Invoice when purchased from an out of state dealer
  • Kansas liability proof of insurance
  • Transfer On Death (TOD) party’s name and address if desired on title
  • Valid Government Issued Photo ID required on all transactions. If conducting business for someone else, written, VIN specific Power of Attorney is required.

 

Used Vehicle

 

Provide the following information:

  • Properly assigned Statement of Origin (Notarization required in Az., Ky., La., Mt., N.C., Oh., Ok., Pa., or Wy.)
  • Kansas sales tax receipt when purchased from a Kansas dealer
  • Invoice when purchased from an out of state dealer
  • Kansas liability proof of insurance
  • Motor Vehicle Examination (MVE-1) on any out of state title. Located at the Tourist Center I-70 Westbound just before the 78th St. Exit.  The Highway Patrol requires the vehicle, title and supporting paperwork, driver's license and $20 inspection fee. For salvage and prior salvage inspections the fee will be $15.
  • Transfer On Death (TOD) party’s name and address if desired on title
  • Lien release if lien shows on seller’s title (Notarization may be required)


Important Note: A $5.00 fee for all walk-in renewals are applied for both offices.

 
 

Duplicate, Secure or Reissue Title

 

Duplicate (Lost the original title):

  • Proper identification (Driver’s license)
  • Vehicle information (Identification number and mileage)
  • $10 fee (plus any unpaid back tax)
  • Required form

Secure (Add a lien to vehicle title):

  • Proper identification (Driver’s license)
  • Title
  • Name and address of bank or institution
  • Mileage
  • $11.50 Fee will be assessed
  • Required form

Reissue (To remove a lien from the title):

  • Proper identification (Driver’s license)
  • Title
  • Mileage
  • Lien release from bank or institution
  • Required form

*You may have to pay a supplementary licensing fee for this type of transaction*

For more information call the Motor Vehicle Department office: (913) 573-2821