The purpose of the Areawide Advisory Council is to assist the Area Agency on Aging through planning, coordination and advocacy; to assist in providing an environment in which older persons throughout Wyandotte and Leavenworth Counties can live independent, meaningful and dignified lives.



  • To obtain, by public hearings or other methods, information and input from older persons throughout Wyandotte and Leavenworth Counties regarding their lives, needs, concerns and goals.

  • To analyze the available funding sources in relation to the program needs of Wyandotte and Leavenworth Counties’ aging citizens.

  • To advise the Area Agency on Aging regarding program needs and goals and to make specific recommendations regarding proposed programs, policies and procedures and generally advise the Area Agency on Aging on any matter pertaining to senior citizens.

  • To serve as a clearinghouse of information for senior citizen programs and services.

  • To provide senior citizens with information about activities which are related to their lives and needs.

Areawide Advisory Council meetings are scheduled on the 4th Wednesday of every month, alternating locations between Wyandotte and Leavenworth Counties. For more information or meeting time and location, please contact the Wyandotte County Aging office at (913) 573-8531.


Leavenworth County Members
Anita Krondak Leavenworth Council on Aging
Susan McGinnis Leavenworth Council on Aging
Charles Williams Leavenworth Council on Aging

You may reach a Leavenworth County Council Member by calling the Leavenworth Council on Aging at (913) 684-0777.

Wyandotte County Memebers​
 Appointed By: Memeber: Term Expiration:
Commssioner Bynum - At Large 1 Susan White 12/11/2023
Commssioner Walker - At Large 2 David Spero (Resigned)  
Commssioner Townsend - District 1 Natalie Barge 12/13/2021
Commssioner McKiernan - District 2 Timothy Howe (Dismissed)  
Commssioner Murguia - District 3 Elvira Wortheam 5/30/2019
Commssioner Johnson - District 4 VACANT  
Commssioner Kane - District 5 Deloris Pinkard 3/31/2020
Commssioner Markley - District 6 Joan Spero 12/11/2023
Commssioner Walters - District 7 Delores Elliott 3/31/2022
Commssioner Philbrook - District 8 Linda Johnson (Resigned)  
Mayor Alvey Thomas Gordon  

Messages can be left with the Areawide Advisory Council Liaison at the Area Agency on Aging by email at 60Plus@wycokck.org or by dialing (913) 573-8531.

Agendas & Minutes