Wyandotte-County-Court-House-1882.jpg The Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Office dates back to the mid 1800’s when Wyandotte was made the permanent county under the act of the territorial legislature. The position of Sheriff is an elected position and therefore, under the provisions of this act the first election of county officers was held on February 22, 1859. From this election, by the vote of the people, Samuel E. Forsythe became the first person to be elected Sheriff in Wyandotte County.  


Sheriff's of Territorial Wyandotte County 1861 - 1881

Samuel E. Forsythe James Ferguson
Luther H. Wood Samuel S. Peterson
Silas Armstrong A.W. Peck
Edward Riter Jacob W. Longfellow
Harvey Horstman Harry A. Mendenhall
E.S.W. Drought Alexander Gunning
William H. Ryns James E. Porter
Thomas B. Bowling Albert Becker


History of Sheriff's

2009-Present Sheriff Don Ash
1999-2009 LeRoy Green Jr. 1938-1942 Frank Zimmer
1995-1999 Michael S. Dailey 1934-1938 George S. Baker
1995 Edward Mayfield 1932-1934 Albert G. Becker
1993-1995 Bill E. Dillon 1922 Daniel Maher
1988-1993 Owen Sully 1918-1922 W.J. Wright Jr.
1980-1988 John L. Quinn 1916-1918 John A. Wolfe
1978-1980 Don Long 1912-1916 R.L. Hinch
1974-1978 Bert Cantwell 1908-1912 A.L. Becker
1972-1974 Jess Boring 1906-1908 James Porter
1966-1972 Glen E. Brunk 1904-1906 Alex Gunning
1962-1966 Harry Higgins 1899-1904 Harry A. Mendendall
1958-1962 Al Sachen 1895-1899 J.W. Longfellow
1954-1958 Harry Higgins 1891-1895 S.S. Peterson
1950-1953 James Ferguson 1887-1891 T.B. Bowling
1948-1950 Roy Ferguson 1883-1887 Ellsworth Edwards
1946-1948 John Theroff 1881 T.B. Bowling
1942-1946 Ellsworth Edwards

In Memoriam

We respectfully pay tribute to those Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Deputies whose lives were cut tragically short while serving in the line of duty.

James Reynolds 8/4/1986
Thomas Medina 3/4/1956
Wesley Walden 11/19/1955
Maurice Bedell 8/29/1954
Frank Rohrbach 1931