Free Tax Preparation Volunteer Income Tax Assistance

2022 Free Income Tax Preparation

It's income tax time! Wyandotte County K-State Research and Extension is again partnering with a community site to host the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program.  

What is VITA?

The VITA Program generally offers free tax help to people who need assistance in preparing their own tax returns.

IRS-certified volunteers provide free basic income tax return preparation with electronic filing to qualified individuals in local communities. All VITA site staff are trained and certified to complete federal income tax returns, as well as returns from any state. They can inform taxpayers about special tax credits for which they may qualify such as Earned Income Tax Credit, Child Tax Credit, and Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled. VITA sites are generally located at community and neighborhood centers, libraries, schools, shopping malls, and other convenient locations.

Who Qualifies for Free Tax Assistance

Anyone whose household income is $57,000 or below may have their state and federal income tax returns completed and e-filed FREE of charge.

All VITA site staff are trained and certified to complete federal income tax returns, as well as returns from any state. Taxpayers are assisted on a first come-first served basis, no appointment is needed.

Special Services Available
  • Servicio Disponible en Espanol
  • Interpreting for the deaf can be available with prior notice
  • Arrangements must be made a week in advance
What to Bring With You

Having all documentation for identity and income is ESSENTIAL to completing the income tax return efficiently the first time.

  • Photo identification
  • Social security cards for every member of the household
  • Your income information (such as your W-2's and 1099's)
  • Last year's tax return
  • Your bank routing number and account number (to take advantage of direct deposit for any refunds) Bring your checkbook!
  • Taxpayers must provide documentation of health insurance for every family member.
    • Health insurance must meet the Minimum Essential Coverage (MEC) requirements of the Affordable Care Act (ACA).
    • Proof of MEC may be found on a Form 1095-C if insurance was obtained through a large employer, or
    • On a Form 1095-B if insurance is purchased through a small employer, purchased on the open market, or provided through Medicare or Medicaid, or
    • On a Marketplace Form 1095-A, if insurance was purchased through the ACA Marketplace.

 

When

  • Wednesday, February 02, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, February 03, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, February 04, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, February 07, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, February 08, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, February 09, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, February 10, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, February 11, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, February 14, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, February 15, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, February 16, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, February 17, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, February 18, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, February 21, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, February 22, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, February 23, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, February 24, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, February 25, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, February 28, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, March 01, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, March 02, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, March 03, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, March 04, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, March 07, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, March 08, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, March 09, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, March 10, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, March 11, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, March 14, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, March 15, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, March 16, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, March 17, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, March 18, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, March 21, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, March 22, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, March 23, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, March 24, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, March 25, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, March 28, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, March 29, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, March 30, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, March 31, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, April 01, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, April 04, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, April 05, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, April 06, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, April 07, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Friday, April 08, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Monday, April 11, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Tuesday, April 12, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Wednesday, April 13, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  • Thursday, April 14, 2022 | 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM