Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners

Commission group 2020

The Unified Government’s Board of Commission is comprised of an eleven member governing body referred to as the “Commission.”

The Commission is composed of a Mayor/CEO, which is nominated at-large, and (10) Commission members. (8) of the Commission members are nominated and elected from districts. The (2) at-large Commission members are nominated from districts and elected at-large. The Board of Commission has policy-making authority over the county of Wyandotte County and city of Kansas City, KS.

The Commission:

  • Sets county policies
  • Adopts ordinances
  • Appropriates funds
  • Approves land re-zonings and special exceptions to the zoning ordinance
  • carries out responsibilities set forth by the State Code
  • Sets priorities for budget preparation
  • Adopts the annual budget of the Unified Government

Vision Statement

Uniquely Wyandotte

A vibrant intersection of diversity, opportunity & distinctive neighborhoods.
An engaged community: healthy, fulfilled and inspired.

See all elected and appointed officials