Child Care Licensing
 
To schedule an appointment for orientation call:
(913) 573-6702 
($10 Fee)
Regulation Books

Are appointments necessary?
Yes. (Evening appointments available on Thursday).
Contact Information:

Olliea Jarrett - Program Supervisor
Email  |  P:  (913) 573-6749  |  F: (913) 573-6776
 

The Child Care Services Program works with all child care providers in Wyandotte County. According to Kansas Child Care Licensing Law, anyone providing out of home care for children birth to (16) years of age other than those related by blood, marriage, or adoption, must be licensed with the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

 

This program provides information on adolescent health through consultation, technical assistance, and educational presentations to agencies (local and state, public and private). Also, responds to inquiries concerning adolescent health services from medical professionals, legislators, other agencies and the public.

Information on Child Care Services & programs provide through the Public Health Department:
Immunizations

 

Eligibility Requirements:

Wyandotte County resident, at least 18 years of age, and a high school graduate or GED holder.

 

Is there a fee?

Yes.  $10 (cash) per person fee for an in-home child care facility orientation; $25 ( per facility) fee for a center, preschool, or school-age program orientation. More info on orientation below.

 

Orientation Information:

All persons interested in becoming licensed and opening a child care facility must attend an orientation session. Orientations for in-home facilities are held on the second (2nd) Tuesday of each month from 9:30AM-12:30pm at the Health Department.  Orientations for a center, preschool, or school-age program are scheduled by appointment only. Please call (913) 573-6702 to register for orientation class or the schedule an appointment for a center, preschool, or school-age program orientation.
 
In-home facility orientations: the second (2nd) Tuesday of each month from 9:30AM-12:30pm
Evening in-home facility orientations are held once per quarter.  Call for the next evening orientation date held on a Thursday from 5pm-7:30pm.
 
Center, Preschool, or School-age Program orientations: scheduled by appointment only
 
Please call (913) 573-6702 to register for orientation class or to schedule an appointment for a center, preschool, or school-age program orientation.
 

Click to read the Wyandotte County Child Care Licensing 2018 Annual Report.

Child Care Licensing Annual Report 2018

Kansas State Statute (K.S.A)

Chapter # Chapter Title Article # Article Title Section(s)
65 Public Health V Maternity Centers and
Child Care Facilities
65-516