Wyandotte County Court House 1882
The Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Office dates back to the mid 1800’s when Wyandotte was made the permanent county under the act of the territorial legislature. The position of Sheriff is an elected position and therefore, under the provisions of this act the first election of county officers was held on February 22, 1859. From this election, by the vote of the people, Samuel E. Forsythe became the first person to be elected Sheriff in Wyandotte County.

Sherrif's of Territorial Wyandotte County 1861 - 1881
Samuel E. Forsythe James Ferguson
Luther H. Wood Samuel S. Peterson
Silas Armstrong A.W. Peck
Edward Riter Jacob W. Longfellow
Harvey Horstman Harry A. Mendenhall
E.S.W. Drought Alexander Gunning
William H. Ryns James E. Porter
Thomas B. Bowling Albert Becker

History of Sheriff's