Mayor's Youth Advisory Council Appointed

Published on June 01, 2023

Mayor's Youth Council Group Photo 2023

Congratulations to the newly appointed members of the Unified Government's newly formed Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council! These amazing young people, along with several others who were unable to attend, were announced as selectees at the May 25th full commission meeting.

These young people had to have a clear desire to serve as a voice for Dotte youth, a willingness to learn, a respectable GPA, excellent school attendance and write a lengthy essay. They ultimately were selected as the young people of choice in our community.

Appointed Council members will participate in a two-year program sponsored through the Mayor's Office. The first year will focus on leadership development and acquiring a deeper understanding of how the Unified Government operates. The second year will consist of developing and implementing a Wyandotte County community-beneficial advocacy initiative in the student's area of interest.

"A special thank you to Jillian Collier who worked countless hours with planning, outreach, recruiting, screening, administrative logistics and delivering an ordinance approved youth council for Wyandotte County. As a 2023 high school graduate she truly did an amazing job and we look forward to the many great things she will accomplish," expressed Mayor Tyrone Garner. "We would also like to thank John Rios for assisting with this effort as the Education Laison with your Mayor’s office. The Mayor's office also sends a special thanks to the various area school districts for collaborating in promoting the interest of the advisory council to students. I am extremely excited to see the great things this group of students will accomplish for our community." 

Volunteers, Youth Liaison Mr. Moses Wyatt Jr. and Education Liaison J.D. Rios will coordinate the program with Unified Government Administration to facilitate the successful implementation of this board for our youth and community.  Please stay tuned for updates regarding projects from the youth advisory council. 

The newly appointed Mayor's Youth Council consists of the following individuals: 

  • Alison Asbury, Chair – 12th
  •  D’ Angelo Mays, Vice Chair -11th
  •  Airly Romo- 12th
  •  Angel Castillo-Decerra-11th
  •  Anjel Robinson-12th
  •  Anthony Selgado-11th
  •  Au’Miyah Chatmon-11th
  •  Chau Tran-11th
  •  Makayla Clark-11th
  •  Jack Seal-12th
  •  Malia Rachel Thompson-11th
  •  Ocial Hernandez- 11th
  •  Thomas Hapke-12th
  •  Timouini Kobei-12th
  •  Victoria Juarez Chavez-12th


Mayor's Youth Council Group Photo 2023
Jillian Collier pictured at the May 25, 2023, Full Commission Meeting with some of the newly appointed Youth Advisory Council members.