Awards for Valor Recognizes KCKPD Officers

Published on November 27, 2023

KCKPD Badge.png

Seventeen KCKPD Officers Honored - Most in the KC Metro

On November 16, 2023, the Kansas City Metropolitan Area Chiefs and Sheriffs Association held its 52nd Annual Valor Awards ceremony at Riverside, MO. Many brave men and women were recognized, including 17 members of the KCKPD – the most of any department.

Officers Danny Thornton, Zane Zagler, Gerardo Velasquez, Alvino Alvarez-Hernandez and Atreyu Jakes all received the Silver Award for performing a dangerous and distinguished act. Officer Walter Jones, Intel. Analyst Bill Johnson, and Detective Mike Eckel received the Bronze Award for performing an exceptional act that brings credit to the agency.

Finally, nine members of KCKPD's Special Operations Unit received the Gold Award: Sgt. Glenn Carter, Officers Chris Blake, Wesley Lundgren, Chad Shore, Greg Haynes, Robert Twitchel, Chad Williams, Angel Silvestre and Detective Jamie Miller.

The Gold Award recognizes a person who has performed an exceptionally valorous act amidst great personal danger. Their acts of valor stem from a shootout that occurred during an April 5, 2023 operation targeting dealers of the deadly drug, fentanyl. Sergeant Carter and Officers Blake and Lundgren, who were injured in the incident, were also each named Officer of the Year – the most prestigious recognition awarded.

KCKPD-Award for Valor

Tagged as: