Kansas City, Kansas Floodplain CRS Rating Upgraded

Published on August 28, 2023


Kansas City, Kansas Floodplain CRS Rating Upgrades Update – Working in partnership with the UG Public Works Department, the Unified Government Planning and Urban Design Department has sought to improve the City of Kansas City, Kansas’ (KCK) National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS) class.

While a draft verification has been under review since earlier this year, it has now been officially confirmed and certified with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management practices that exceed the minimum requirements of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Over 1,500 communities participate nationwide.

In CRS communities, flood insurance premium rates are discounted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from the community’s efforts that address the three goals of the program:

  1. Reduce and avoid flood damage to insurable property
  2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the National Flood Insurance Program
  3. Foster comprehensive floodplain management

The Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City Kansas and its partners have successfully obtained enough points to be upgraded to a Class 6 community. This will result in a 20% premium discount for all flood insurance policies issued in KCK.

For more information, or if you have any questions, please contact the Director of Planning and Urban Design at 913.573.5750 or ghand@wycokck.org


Tagged as: