Board of Commissioners

Commission group 2020

The Unified Government’s Board of Commission is comprised of an eleven member governing body referred to as the “Commission.”

The Commission is composed of a Mayor/CEO, which is nominated at-large, and (10) Commission members. (8) of the Commission members are nominated and elected from districts. The (2) at-large Commission members are nominated from districts and elected at-large. The Board of Commission has policy-making authority over the county of Wyandotte County and city of Kansas City, KS.

The Commission:

  • Sets county policies
  • Adopts ordinances
  • Appropriates funds
  • Approves land re-zonings and special exceptions to the zoning ordinance
  • carries out responsibilities set forth by the State Code
  • Sets priorities for budget preparation
  • Adopts the annual budget of the Unified Government

Vision Statement

Uniquely Wyandotte

A vibrant intersection of diversity, opportunity & distinctive neighborhoods.
An engaged community: healthy, fulfilled and inspired.

See all elected and appointed officials