Wyandotte County Court House in 1882 The Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Office dates back to the mid 1800’s when Wyandotte was made the permanent county under the act of the territorial legislature. The position of Sheriff is an elected position and therefore, under the provisions of this act the first election of county officers was held on February 22, 1859. From this election, by the vote of the people, Samuel E. Forsythe became the first person to be elected Sheriff in Wyandotte County.




Sheriff's of Territorial Wyandotte County 1861 - 1881

Samuel E. Forsythe James Ferguson
Luther H. Wood Samuel S. Peterson
Silas Armstrong A.W. Peck
Edward Riter Jacob W. Longfellow
Harvey Horstman Harry A. Mendenhall
E.S.W. Drought Alexander Gunning
William H. Ryns James E. Porter
Thomas B. Bowling Albert Becker

History of Sheriff's

Term Name
2021-Present Daniel Soptic
2009-2021 Don Ash
1999-2009 LeRoy Green Jr.
1995-1999 Michael S. Dailey
1995 Edward Mayfield
1993-1995 Bill E. Dillon
1988-1993 Owen Sully
1980-1988 John L. Quinn
1978-1980 Don Long
1974-1978 Bert Cantwell
1972-1974 Jess Boring
1966-1972 Glen E. Brunk
1962-1966 Harry Higgins
1958-1962 Al Sachen
1954-1958 Harry Higgins
1950-1953 James Ferguson
1948-1950 Roy Ferguson
1946-1948 John Theroff
1942-1946 Ellsworth Edwards
1938-1942 Frank Zimmer
1934-1938 George S. Baker
1932-1934 Albert G. Becker
1922 Daniel Maher
1918-1922 W.J. Wright Jr.
1916-1918 John A. Wolfe
1912-1916 R.L. Hinch
1908-1912 A.L. Becker
1906-1908 James Porter
1904-1906 Alex Gunning
1899-1904 Harry A. Mendendall
1895-1899 J.W. Longfellow
1891-1895 S.S. Peterson
1887-1891 T.B. Bowling
1883-1887 Ellsworth Edwards
1881 T.B. Bowling